The ToneWay® Project: helping people play music

Videos for open-tuned uke beginners

Are there any videos for open tuned uke (the only one I found is the short utube clip on introducing the uke to young children)

Cancel
Hiding 9 posts. Click to show.

Yes, I saw that clip last week while scavenging the web for links re teaching music to little kiddos. It's great. You should ask permission to include that link in your materials. Esp those targeted to kiddos … and the other end of the age spectrum, for those hoping to stave off dementia or retain sharper brain function through adulthood.
It could help you reach a larger audience with the Toneway Projrct, since funding for music education often channels through larger organizations like schools or grants.
Also, those who treat cognitive disabilities or cognitive decline (I am an Occupational Therapist, specializing in rehabilitation of neurological issues).
These avenues unfortunately require convincing people with funding to support the learning opportunity, and that often means convincing a non-musician and non-artist to find their own reasons/benefits to get on board… (Beyond the obvious joy, art, and social/community enhancement.)
It helps to give the “numbers people” something they can easily relate to, and it is as easy as providing links to information, like the TED Ed clip you shared with me.

Here's another very interesting
TED video on this
Enjoy!

Cancel

(Don't let the title deter you from watching. It's actually quite conservative and not at all inappropriate in content… Though the title unfortunately makes the video less shareable in a wider audience like yours… Maybe you can get her to edit and release one that only compares music to cheesecake and cuddling!)

Cancel