The ToneWay® Project: helping people play music

Index finger hurting while barring chords on guitar

Dear Toneway Community,

I have started to play the mandolin about 4 years ago and about 1 year ago also started learning to play the guitar and sing. For some reason I find it easier to sing with the guitar than the mandolin, even though I am better at playing the latter.
I usually play open guitar chords and use a capo when needed. A month or two ago I started learning more and more songs that require barring chords (with the index finger). I noticed that if there are more than 2 or 3 bar chords in the song (or if all the chords in the song have to be barred) my index finger begins to hurt very quickly (after 5 minutes of playing sometimes).
I am playing a Jasmine S-35 steel string acoustic guitar, the action on 12th fret is 0.9mm (0.35 in), so it is not too bad. I believe the strings are “light”, although last time I changed them was last March when I bought the guitar.
I recently got my hands on a very good classical guitar. Even though the action is a bit higher (1mm or 0.39 in) because the strings are nylon and light gauge it is much easier on the fingers. But even with this guitar playing bar chords for 15-20 minutes makes my index finger hurt.
I looked through the online videos on barring techniques (since I never took any guitar lessons) and I seem to be doing most of the things right.
As you can see I've been playing for a few years now (around 1 hour/day on average), so it is unlikely that my fingers have not yet developed the required strength.
I like the slimmer neck on the steel string, but I spend more and more time playing the classical as it is easier, less buzzy and does not hurt (if not played for too long).
Did any of you have the same problem? What did you do to solve it?
If I get a ¾ size guitar, would it be easier to fret bar chords?